AESPA ‘SAVAGE’ THE 1ST MINI ALBUM REVIEW

aespa – 'Savage' review: K-pop power rookies stake their claim for greatness

I have really enjoyed their comebacks this year. I am happy to hear 6 new songs on their latest release. They have become one of my favorite gg’s this year, along with ITZY. I like to discuss my thoughts on their latest release.

1.Aenery-Love the drum/bass sound in the production. Gives it a nice rhythmic sound. The vocals are pretty stellar on this. I like the transition, during the pre-chorus. The production as a whole on this one is very well done. There isn’t too much going on in this one. The production pretty much stays the same with the exemption of the bridge. I like it.8.5/10

2.Savage-Like their other title tracks. This one follows a similar trend of many production switches. I happen to love it. The production doesn’t seem messy to me. It works for me. Their vocals are insane in this one. The best I heard from them vocally. I am not the biggest fan of SM artists rapping style, exception NCT, but they make the rapping parts work. The switches from a synth pop to a more hip hop influence style is quite interesting. This can be hit or miss. It is a hit for me. I love their style.9/10

3.I’ll Make You Cry-Love the synth sounds. The mixture of the bass and synth sounds make a great sound. The chorus is the highlight for me. It makes me enjoy the song much more. The verses aren’t quite as exciting, which makes sense.8/10

4.YEPPI YEPPI-I don’t find the verses that interesting to me. What catches my attention is the addictive chorus. I really like the 80’s synth pop influenced chorus. It is so catchy. It is very ear candy. The song is a bit messy in some parts, but it doesn’t matter with that amazing chorus. Honestly, if it wasn’t for the chorus I wouldn’t like this song as much. The other parts of the song don’t interest me that much. The chorus makes this song so catchy.8.5/10

5.ICONIC-Once again, not feeling the verses, don’t really care for the chorus either, but the pre-chorus is really nice. I actually liked this song much more first couple of listens, but my liking for this song is fading now that I am actually paying attention to the song for the review.7.5/10

6.Lucid Dream-The song is pretty simple production wise for SM standards, but nothing wrong with that. I like this style. The production is still interesting. The production and vocals are pretty. Nothing great, but not bad. Middle of the road song. I like it.8/10

I really enjoyed listening to this album. The songs are all good. I can definitely see myself listening to most of these on repeat. I think a couple will get old after awhile, but that happens. I thought the album was good. A nice mix of songs.

Album score:8/10

Leave a comment